NORTH YORKSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL

STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Minutes of the Special Meeting of the Standards Committee held at County Hall, Northallerton on Friday 5 February 2010.

PRESENT:

Mr James F S Daglish (Chairman).

County Councillors Philip Barrett and Peter Sowray.

Independent Member – Mr Henry Cronin.

Apologies were received from County Councillors David Jeffels, J W Marshall, Peter Popple and Geoff Webber; together with Independent Members Gillian Fleming and Dr Janet Holt.

COPIES OF ALL DOCUMENTS CONSIDERED ARE IN THE MINUTE BOOK

37. APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT MEMBERS

CONSIDERED -

The report of the Monitoring Officer requesting Members to consider and determine the Committee's recommendations to full Council regarding appointments to two of the Independent Member positions on the Standards Committee.

The report highlighted the recruitment process undertaken to appoint two Independent Members to the Standards Committee in view of the term of office of Mr James F S Daglish concluding in May 2010 and the resignation of Gillian Fleming, with immediate effect.

Details of the recruitment process undertaken and the Appointment Panel interviews that took place in relation to this, were provided.

RESOLVED -

That it be recommended to full Council, for approval, that Hillary Gilbertson, commencing a term of office on 1 March 2010, to serve until 28 February 2014 and Hillary Bainbridge, commencing a term of office following the annual meeting of the Council in 2010, serving until the annual meeting of the County Council in 2014, be appointed.

SL/ALJ